A Big Pot of Love

A classic around our house…although if my son had his way there’d be giant meatballs in it every time I make it! I call it a “Big Pot of Love” because this dish is made in a big red pot that I LOVE! My daughter is continually trying to throw the pot into the cabinet with the other pots and pans and I have to remind her to leave it out because it’s part of the “decor”. It’s an ongoing battle because she is a minimalist at heart. 🙂

To the food:

Here’s that red pot with all kinds of yummy love inside.

A peek into the other pot!

The “Pot of Love” being stirred by Miss Brittany.

Fresh buttery garlic & pepper bread straight out of the oven.

And the final dish.

I know…you weren’t expecting Tabasco right? Yeah…me neither until I tried it. I cannot help but have it this way. Homemade chili sauce made with a mortar & pestle is way better, but Tabasco does a pretty good job of kicking it up some. I even use the little red juice to spice up my chicken flavored ramen noodles at times! So what if I like it HOT?! 🙂

And…wondering how to make your own homemade sauce? Here’s a simple recipe by the loveliest fast chef around Rachel Ray (with a little help from Elsa). I tweek mine quite a bit, but I always try to use the wonderful San Marzano tomatoes for best flavor. They are sold at your local market…so just look for this can. Go make some chow!

~ by oneshotbeyond on July 7, 2008.

9 Responses to “A Big Pot of Love”

  1. Heather, I’m coming to live at your house if you cook great looking means like this! Except no hot sauce in my gravy ok? LOL

    Darn this looks so good!

    The photography on it makes it look like a cookbook shoot – good DOF on these! 🙂

  2. Caliente Senorita!!!!!! nice = )

  3. Yum. Yum! I can almost smell that “Big Pot of Love” here in KY. Great post!

  4. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Meatballs. Yum.

  5. Looks really good!

  6. Heather,

    OK, This is the deal – If you ever post something like this again I better be invited. Thats just blatent teasing. Seriously though – I really like the way you doccumented the whole process and the photos came out very natural. Perfect for a cookbook!

  7. hmm…I think I’m gonna need a bigger pot to feed all you visitors! Anytime though.

  8. Ok Heather seriously this just made me even more hungry. It all looks so yumo. Well except the tabasco but of course thats just me, you know I don’t do spicy.

  9. Fabulous photos and like everyone else, I find myself very hungry right now. The recipe looks great – may have to give it a try…

Leave a Reply

