Dinner Is Served (3)

Can gravy be light & healthy? Sure! I tried out a new recipe the other day. The heavy version called for all the butter and fat you could get into one pan. I mixed it up some and came up with this delicious take. The only change I will make next time I make it is to try it with boneless skinless chicken breasts.

Mushroom & Scallion Chicken with Brown Rice & Broccoli

The gravy was made with the chicken drippings, chicken stock, low fat plain yogurt, mushrooms, seasonings and some green scallions…and before you ask-YES, it did taste GOOD!

This is what the chicken looked like while browning…I used 2-3 tbsp’s of flower to coat the chicken before browning in about 1 tbsp olive oil & 1 tbsp butter. Also, this cast iron skillet is my other favorite cooking item! My thoughtful Grandma got it for me when I got my first apartment back when I was 17 years old! I hope this skillet stands the test of time so I can pass it down to own daughter one day (sound good Britt?) Cool.

Goodness…I LOVE COOKING! It takes a backseat to photography for sure, but don’t be surprised if one day I have a new blog and it’s focus is on cooking…because it is my 2nd love.

~ by oneshotbeyond on July 16, 2008.

8 Responses to “Dinner Is Served (3)”

  1. Yum! Cooking blog = fantastic idea!

  2. Food is good, great recipe here Heather – I need to concentrate more time on food photography myself – My neighbor David (Smelson Crabcake) just started a foodie blog at http://www.pleasuresofthetable.blogspot.com/.
    The final plated shot you did is great!!

  3. It’s not even 8 am here in KY; but you have certainly whetted my appetite. I don’t cook much but I sure can EAT! Looks yummy.

  4. That REALLY looks good! Can you Fedex some this way?

  5. Heather,

    I’m really getting tired of you teasing us with your cullinary enthusiasm. This looks sooo good and it’s sooo out of reach. I thought you were nice but you are just plain old mean. First chance I get to make one of my own gourmet meals and photo document it – You will be the first one I’ll send it to at FULL resolution. I’ll get you – just wait. Oh by the way the top shot of the ready made meal looks really nice. 🙂

  6. Now, I am REALLY starving.

    WOW.

    Not only does it look fantastic. It sounds phenom!!

  7. heather – i’m waiting for that cooking blog!

    i may not cook but i can enjoy photos of great meals!! 🙂 YUM YUM!

  8. Okay…so the cooking blog is a good idea it seems {scratches chin}. Can I really take on another task at the moment? Much pondering will have to be done first.

    Mike~Thx for the link to your friends spot.

    Awww Sue~I would have bet that you were a great cook. You holding out on me? Baker maybe?

    Oscar~The “FDA” would have my head shipping perishables all the way to you!

    Wolf~Bring it on! I want to SEE THIS gourmet meal in all it’s glory.

    Jen & Meleah~When I make it out there {it’s gotta happen, right?} I’ll make you both any dinner you want! 🙂

    Go grab some grub peeps.

Leave a Reply

