Ask and You Shall Receive

I’ve been trying to step out of the box some and challenging myself to lots of new photo techniques lately. I threw out a very last minute mention (we’re talking a few hours before the performance) to the stellar band-MALBEC last Friday night. The mention was my desire to document their performance and the good old “ask and you shall receive” saying came to be true for me. Their manager said-YES! If you happen to watch one of my favorite shows “One Tree Hill” you may have heard their tunes before, although their work has made it into many other movies & TV shows too.

I’m pretty elated over the photos I managed to get using no flash and being taken “hand held“. The venue? The world famous Viper Room. Go check out what you’ve been missing…malbectheband.com.

Leave here immediately following viewing this post and get their cd “Dawn of Our Age”. You will begin your journey to the “Summer of Love” and start humming to the upbeat tunes of their universal appealing genre of music. And don’t miss seeing them in person…this band knows how to perform like no other band I’ve ever seen (ON TOUR NOW)! They sprinkle cheery-modern hope all over you as they jam!!! I’m serious here people…you will grin like a school kid again while listening to them. Your puffy little cheeks will burn from all the smiley stretching they’ll be doing!

Love you MALBEC! Thank you for doing what you do and loving it-it SHOWS! And…I have to throw a shout out to Samantha (on bass)-keep smiling while your handling business, it really works for you. 🙂

My pick for their ONE “SONG” BEYOND…”Quiet Nights Quiet Places”. I’m so glad I stumbled upon this treasure called Malbec. Hope you will be too…leave NOW.

Samantha handling business and looking darn good doing it~

Two fans who really must have had sore cheeks the next day~

Pablo getting gritty~

Sidney & Mark doing their thing~

Nick belting out some tunes~

My favorite shot of Samantha~

Don’t forget to come back and see the other bands I will be featuring from this night’s line up.

~ by oneshotbeyond on July 23, 2008.

7 Responses to “Ask and You Shall Receive”

  1. Heather – BRAVO! You did so well “stepping outside the box” with this shoot. Isn’t shooting a band so much fun! And you did it in high heels to top it off! You go girl!

    The poster came out fantastic and the live shots look really great w/ the stage lighting.

    Well done and great write up!

  2. These are fantastic band and fan shots! Not easy to do and you’ve done a smashing job!

  3. Wow Heather, that must have been real exciting! And great shots! I have heard them before – Awesome!

  4. Rocking Shots Heather!!

  5. Oooooooooohhhhhhh, these are so great! Love the poster and love “Nick belting out some tunes”

  6. Thanks all! It was really challenging and a great experience!

  7. I love Malbec. My fav song is Home!

Leave a Reply

