OSBP’S 1st Giveaway!

Okay…so…um…I am stealing an idea I’ve seen done on many other blogs. I am stealing it because I love the idea. I’ve been wanting to do a giveaway on here for quite a while, but couldn’t figure out just the right time to do one. So…when I saw other bloggers giving something away on their actual birthday I knew that’s what I wanted to do too. Today is my birthday. For some reason this year I’ve really been focusing on what I was born to do and what value my life can give to those around me. I’m saying I want to have a purpose more than just existing and going through my own daily experiences. We are all connected. I am grateful to be alive today. Really grateful. I am so thankful to have friends and a network of people in my life that I can count on and hopefully they know they can count on me too.

The giveaway will be one of my favorite things because after all…it’s MY birthday! My most favorite band at the moment is War Stories. They are a San Diego/Inland Empire up and coming band as well as a vision of hope & inspiration. They are a humble and unified team of four who happen to play some pretty incredible music. It is music that HEALS & INFUSES HOPE into your soul. Their first cd was released back in August of this year and I was their to document & embrace the occasion. I bought an extra cd and had it signed by all four of the band members for this giveaway! Here it is, just waiting for the lucky winner to start listening to it!

To enter you must reply to this post in the form of a comment and include your name along with your favorite album/song/artist and why that music has meaning in your life. Only one entry per person please and no anonymous comments will be entered. The winner will be chosen using Random.org’s list option and will be announced on Friday November 21, 2008!

Read what I’ve written about my favorite band and see photos I’ve taken of them here. Visit War Stories page here.

Below is a new video & song by WAR STORIES called “Hanging On”. The part of this song that resonates deep within me is “to be living in a world with so much grief, it tears on me…but you keep me hanging on”.

~ by oneshotbeyond on November 14, 2008.

10 Responses to “OSBP’S 1st Giveaway!”

  1. Goodness….this is a power packed post, filled with much to take in and think about!

    First of all — Happy, Happy, Happy Birthday! I certainly hope your day is filled with lots of love and good times.

    Secondly — I enjoyed reading about, and hearing the band that moves you so much. And I can certainly see why you described them as “comfortably familiar.” And, what a kind and generous gesture to give away one of their CDs. I hope one of your younger blog visitors will win the CD and enjoy it as much as you do! It will be fun to read their thoughts and comments as they enter your first giveaway.

  2. Heather, I just want to send you my best wishes for a happy birthday. Enjoy your day!

    Fun idea to have a giveaway and like Sue, I’ll enjoy hearing your music-loving readers’ comments…

  3. Happy Birthday my friend! I hope it was a good day for you. I’m not going to enter the contest and take someone else’s chance because I know there is a special “Jen” version of this CD waiting for me! 🙂

  4. Happy Birthday! One of the songs that has a lot of meaning for me is the soundtrack for “Grosse Point Blank”. This was a fav of my friend who is no longer. Every time we went somewhere or did anything, that soundtrack was playing. Hearing it brings back some many great memories.

  5. …hey there…great band that’s ‘of our times’…would love to win!

  6. Happy Birthday! I love the tradition of giving to others on one’s own birthday. It adds a pleasantly altruistic spin to what is traditionally a rather navel-gazing holiday.
    I have two favorite bands right now, and they are “A Weather” and “The National.” Both bands are atmospheric, with mellow, overlapping vocals. They have a rather melancholy sound to them, but something in me finds this soothing. I listen to them when I’m stressed or tense and I feel the need to unwind.
    Thank you for offering up such a neat, personal giveaway!

  7. HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY HAPPIEST BIRTHDAY EVER!!!!

  8. OK, One of my favorite CD’s is Abbey Road by the Beatles. Actually thier last album although Let It Be was released last. It has such a range of style and interweaving in it that you can’t stop in the middle of it. Especially the last few songs which are connected together. Almost a statement saying here’s where we are! Hope you enjoyed the ride.

  9. […] game with us.  (edit:  AND….when you visit Heather’s blog, make sure you check out her FIRST FREE GIVE AWAY! How cool is […]

  10. Hippo Birdy two Ewe! My favorite song is Not Dead Yet by Styx. It always reminds me that no matter how bad things get I can rise again to fight them. Otherwise its Your Love by Jim Brickman. I really liked the setiments expressed in War Stories ‘Hanging On”.

Leave a Reply

