Tasty Tuesday: Sweet Pepper Pasta

Here’s a complete meal that you’re sure to love. If you don’t like peppers you can leave them out, but they add a “sweetness” and flavor to the dish that can’t be duplicated any other way. I’ve been making this baked pasta for over 10 years. I don’t know where I got the original recipe from.

It’s easy and you can’t really mess it up. If you want to try it you can find the recipe down below.

Here’s a look at the pasta right before baking it.

Crispy garlic bread done up with olive oil instead of butter this time around.

Add a simple salad and it’s a complete meal for 6! This is a hearty & rich meal despite not having any meat in it. I encourage you to try it out.

My sister and her hunny were over the night I made this dinner and they thought it was super tasty! 

Recipe for Sweet Pepper Baked Ziti

1 lb ziti

3 cups thinly sliced red & green peppers

1 bag shredded cheddar cheese (8oz)

1 bag shredded monterey jack cheese (8oz)

1 can whole tomatoes, mashed (28oz) or crushed tomatoes

1 cup half and half

¼ c seasoned bread crumbs

Salt & pepper to taste 
 

Preheat oven to 400. Grease 13×9 baking dish. Boil pasta according to package, but adding peppers for last 4 minutes of boiling. Drain. Combine ziti & peppers, cheeses, tomatoes and salt & pepper in a large bowl. Pour into the prepared baking dish. Then pour half and half over the entire pasta mixture. Cover with foil. Bake 15 minutes. Then uncover and add bread crumbs to the top. Bake an additional 15 minutes until crusty and bubbly. Absolutely yummy!

Serve with garlic bread and a Caesar salad for a complete dinner. Serves 6-12.

~ by oneshotbeyond on March 24, 2009.

12 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Sweet Pepper Pasta”

  1. Where were you last week when my daughter was in a multi-day tournament and kept wanting pasta every night? I was running out of ideas! This looks really good and different. I’d like to give the recipe a try but the link didn’t work for me?

    Your photos of this meal are lovely…

  2. I had trouble checking out the recipe too. 😦

    You have a way of making me hungry, even if it is 7:45 am here!

  3. yoou know, you could put this in one of those vacuum food sealer bags and I bet it would get to me in pretty good shape…..

  4. I updated the post with the recipe since some people had trouble with my link.

    Julie~
    It is a great meal for her when she is really active like that. I bet you could even add in some protien to boost it up some. It’s already rich though.

    DB~
    I have one of those vaccum food things too. Haven’t used it yet. If it didn’t have so many dairy products in it I might have surprised you with some. 😉

  5. I am in Puerto Rico this week, lots of good food. But man you always have a great menu here too!

  6. Thank you so much for adding the recipe!!!!! 🙂 This is going on the menu for this week for sure….

  7. Another great one for my frige door. You know, I actually have print outs of these recepies pinned to my fridge! Mine never look (not probably taste) as good as yours though.

  8. Thanks Gordy.

    You’re welcome Julie. Let me know how it turns out for you!

    Kevin~
    Have you made any of them? You must share when you do!

  9. One of my favorite pasta dishes….mmm baked ziti! Delish!
    Looks great in the photos and great that you included the recipe!

  10. Yum! I bought a ton of pasta at Costco the other day, so I’m always looking for ways to use it! Half of my pantry is now pasta! ha! can’t wait to try this…

  11. […] friend Heather posted the recipe that these went into on her blog, One Shot Beyond Photography, in THIS POST. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)More Pepper Keibu ! More and More […]

  12. Got here by way of Julie’s lovely pepper shot, wonderful photos and thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

