Is Off Camera Lighting Worth Your Effort?

You tell me…

My friend Jen and I experimented with using our flashes off camera last December in a wide open area just for the fun of it. Mixing off camera, “artificial” lighting with nature’s glorious sunset lighting proved to be dramatic and exactly what we both were hoping for. The results are moody & beautiful.

Take a look for yourself at the dramatic results that taking your flash off camera can make…my favorite is 1st! I’m going to number these because there are so many. This way if you comment on one in particular that you like I’ll know exactly which one you mean. πŸ™‚

#1 (do you see why it’s my favorite?)

#2 (love this)

#3 (um…yep-she’s looking good)

#4 (click on the photo to enlarge it)

#5

#6 (this one knocks my socks off)

#7 (she knows how to model for the camera)

#8 (WOWEEEEEEEEE!)

#9 (so Jen-ish…she loves natureΒ and especially trees & open fields)

#10 (click on the photo to enlarge it b/c my goodness this one is totally amazing!)

#11 (click on the photo to enlarge it…if not, you’ll miss out on some details)

#12 (click on the photo to…well-you ought to know that by now) πŸ™‚

#13 (ha…do it again-I dare you)

#14

#15 (click on the photo to enlarge it)

#16 (when Jen is happy the world stands still to enjoy it)

#17 (she’s doing the jumping for both of us…knowing we rocked it!)

Slideshow with more shots here…I recommend full screen view & size large for viewing them!

Jen,

I had so much fun shooting you! You are a true and great friend. I know last week and this week were incredibly painful for you…I hope you find peace when you think of all the happy memories with your dad. His passing isn’t the end of what your heart remembers! Love you girl!!!

~ by oneshotbeyond on May 5, 2009.

31 Responses to “Is Off Camera Lighting Worth Your Effort?”

  1. #8 blows me away!! Fantastic!!

  2. 4, 6, & 13 are out of this world! I just love ’em. Nice work! πŸ™‚

  3. Great images. Thoughts with Jen

  4. 1,2,3,7, & 10 are the cream of the crop for me. But, when I come back to look later, I may change my mind because they are all awesome – the lighting is top notch, the day must have been just about perfect for these shots, and your post-processing amazes. Best of all is seeing Jen on a happy day like this…….

  5. How nice to see Jen with such radiant smiles. Your work with the lighting and processing is superb; challenging to select a favorite.

    And, as Kevin said, “Thoughts with Jen.”

  6. Great Photography work.

    I like the natural scenes

  7. […] Fiona Mclutosh added an interesting post today on Is Off Camera Lighting Worth Your Effort?Here’s a small readingTake a look for yourself at the dramatic results that taking your flash off camera can make…my favorite is 1st! […]

  8. Wow heather these are great!

    Jen is a great subject too.

    Our thoughts are with her at this time. Thanks!

  9. Interesting work and fun to experiment with different techniques. I get why # 1 is your fav. Striking photo! I also liked the colors in # 15. Great work!

  10. I like the ones like the first because it really draws you toward her face, especially her eyes. Great series!

  11. Funny… my responses were eactly like Amber’s: 4, 6 and 13. Purposely tried not to think about the “intellectual” aspects of why, just a gut response.

  12. Wow! Wow! Wow!

    They are fantastic images Heather! The processing is amazing and the lighting really works well. My favourites are #1, #6 and #13. They seriously rock!! Great work ladies. πŸ™‚

  13. Awesome shots!
    The first one is just STUNNING!!
    She really comes ‘out’ in that photo.
    The lightning is perfect and her eyes and face tells me more then words can possible say..
    And the dramatic sky as backdrop is just gorgeous πŸ™‚

    I like nr 8 too.. πŸ˜‰

  14. I love the b&w shots, the processing is sensational! Gorgeous work!!!

  15. I love #6… great shot Heather!

  16. Beautiful shots. I bought a flash, still don’t know how to work it. Natural lighting always looks better.

  17. Gorgeous pictures! I am thinking about buying a speedlight. I just got my DSLR about 6 weeks ago, so I’m still trying to learn how it works before I buy another piece of equipment.

  18. They’re all gorgeous & it took me awhile to decide, but my favorite is #6. Fabulous series!

  19. Wow, stunning photos, they’re so dramatic and absolutely amazing!

  20. My favorite is #2!

  21. Oh yes, I love #1 as well!! πŸ™‚ Great job!!!

  22. Number 1 & number 6 are my favorite Jen Shots.

    xoxo

  23. love the b&ws!!!

  24. omg! love love love the b&w’s! especially no. 1,6&8! amazing!!

  25. Stunning! Really fabulous shots! Wow! Wish I could photograph like that! I so can’t wait to get my SLR! Jen is so photogenic! Beautiful!

  26. Thanks for visiting my blog! I’ve enjoyed looking through yours and especially like this one about off-camera lighting. I’d love to learn how to do that.

  27. stunning!!! i’m blown away! nice work!

  28. Heather – these came out so wonderful. We make a great team – don’t we? Your processing rocked these! πŸ™‚

    I appreciate all of the kind comments regarding my “modeling” lol and thank you for what you wrote about my dad’s passing.

  29. Great post!! Love it!! Off camera lighting is so exhilarating, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

  30. #4 is my favorite. For some reason B&W works so well with this series. Great job with the post processing!

  31. Very Nice photos and use of flash with the ambient light.

Leave a Reply

