Tasty Tuesday: Stir Fry Leftovers

Remember last week when I posted this yummy stir fry? Well…here is the follow up post-the one with the two incredible ways to use up the leftovers from that stir fry. I am the type of person who doesn’t like to see my leftovers go to waste and I almost always make too much for my family to finish in one night. That’s where a little creativity and a lot of hunger come into play…resulting in the following two meals. I have to tell you a secret…these both may have eggs in them, but you are more than welcome to make them anytime of day!

Onto the food:

My stir fry omelet-I used the leftover stir fry mixture to fill a fresh 3 egg omelet with…then I went nutty and topped it with cheddar cheese and fresh herbs. YIKES…It was a palatable experience!!!

(Click-Click-Click that baby to really get a look)

I mean seriously…is there anything not to like about using leftovers??! Two tips on cooking omelets…be patient with them until they set completely and never add milk to the beaten eggs! I know that’s not what most people say to do…but I’m telling you it’s my best trick to having them come out great every time. Take another good look at this next photograph…does my omelet look like it’s missing anything? I don’t think so.

Now…onto the next yummy creation. I don’t even know what to call it…I’m going with Eggs ala V8. So for these all you need to do is reheat your stir fry in the nonstick skillet (a tiny one). Add 3/4 a can (the tiny can…not the regular sized one) of spicy V8 or the plain one if you can’t handle the heat. Let it start to heat through…without stirring (this is key). Add in two eggs-leaving a little room in between them, add some salt & pepper to the eggs and cover. The eggs are basically going to steam right there before your eyes. Let them cook over med heat a good 5-7 mins. Uncover and drop in a bit of your favorite cheese-watch it melt in less than 30 seconds and serve it up with some tortillas or rice…and try not to faint! It will smell incredible!!!

(Clickity Click Click)

Don’t waste your leftovers again. They are so valuable.

Be good to each other today. Cook for somebody special…see their face light up when you serve them one of their favorite dishes! Nobody around to cook for? Do it for yourself. You deserve it!!!

~ by oneshotbeyond on June 1, 2009.

19 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Stir Fry Leftovers”

  1. I need to stop coming to your blog when I’m hungry 🙂

  2. how soon should I be there? good use of leftovers!

  3. Looks very yummy….

  4. YUM!!! And I LOVE the carrot tongue!!:)

  5. This looks awesome.. Kind of wish I could order this off a breakfast menu somewhere. 🙂

  6. Great follow-up to your stir fry post. Thanks for the mouth-watering ideas…

  7. Only Heather McCullah can make leftover dinners or lunches this inviting. I agree with Brianna. I’m going to eat before visiting your blog from now on. I vow to make you drool one of these days young lady.

  8. A double Tasty Tuesday….alas, I rarely leave any leftovers – but I’ll keep these in mind for those rare occasions 😉

  9. I think this is the best “Tasty Tuesday” yet.

  10. This looks so good!

  11. we use leftovers in omelets all the time! I really like that last shot of the food in the pan — the dof and colors are awesome and I can just smell it cooking.

  12. Wow! That omelette looks wonderful. So pretty and colorful. Love the pictures.

  13. Tasty Tuesday is right! What a delicious looking recipe! Yum!

  14. Meleah LOVES this, and may have licked the screen of her computer monitor! MMMMMMMMMMMMM

  15. V8 egg thing sounds great… super idea.

  16. dropped and read some of your post…This looks really good.

  17. Wow…who knew leftovers could produce all this?! 😉

  18. The colors are amazine! Not to mention how delicious they look!
    All I can say is yummy, yummier, ymmiest! Great chef and great photos!

  19. Great was to enjoy leftovers! That stir fry omelette looks great!

Leave a Reply

