Tasty Tuesday: Slow Cooked Stuffed Peppers

These remind me of growing up. My grandma made these quite often. Hers were the standard solid green bell peppers and were always made in the oven. I buy a combination of colored bell peppers to stuff and always make mine in the slow cooker.

What’s inside…

Leftover Spanish rice (come back tomorrow for my recipe for this)

Ground hamburger meat (seasoned with onion, garlic & chopped green bell peppers while cooking)

Chopped tomato

Shredded cheddar cheese

Sliced cheddar cheese for each top

The method…

Prepare mixture and spoon into cleaned out large peppers (remember to buy flat bottomed peppers that can stand on their own). Place them in a slow cooker. Pour 1 small can tomato sauce and one cup of water into the base of the slow cooker all around the stuffed peppers. Drizzle tops of peppers with olive oil before covering and cooking on low about 8 hours. I can fit 5 stuffed peppers into my slow cooker.

The final dish will look something like this…

(click to enlarge)

I think red peppers like the one above are my very favorite.

I love that even though these aren’t cooked in an oven they get some charring on the outer edges which gives the peppers a roasted flavor. I drizzle a large spoonful of the tomato/water mixture over the top of the open stuffed pepper when plating. Spanish rice is pretty moist on it’s own so just a little drizzle of the sauce is enough. If I’m using brown or white rice I will add some tomato sauce to the actual mixture going inside the peppers before filling them. I chop each leftover stuffed pepper up and store them in separate containers with a sprinkle of cheddar cheese. Perfect for reheating in the microwave the next day.

These make the house smell so good when you get home from a long day of work or play. :- ) Brittany actually texted me right after school on the day I made these telling me how great they smelled. Nothing makes me more happy than to have a compliment like that from my teenage daughter!

~ by oneshotbeyond on June 16, 2009.

One Response to “Tasty Tuesday: Slow Cooked Stuffed Peppers”

  1. I make a good stuffed pepper too, although with a chicken parmesan filling.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/17/michaels-stuffed-bell-peppers-with-chicken-parmesan-filling/

Leave a Reply

