Addictive Spanish Rice

When I had my first place I tried and tried to make this style rice with ZERO success at it. It would come out mushy, sticky and bland or too flavorful every time. I finally asked a few different friends to write down their recipe for their own versions of spanish rice. None could or would. It seems this is one of those “eyeball it” type dishes. I was able to watch friends make this a few times and have finally mastered a version of my own that everybody seems to love. I made this for a bbq a couple weeks back and got great compliments on the flavor of my rice. So…here is my step by step “eyeball it” recipe.

First…place some long grain white rice in a medium size nonstick skillet with a big spoonful of butter and a few drizles of olive oil. I use both butter and oil because the oil helps the butter not burn and the butter has the flavor I want for this rice. And…I do realize it’s not really butter at all, it’s country crock lite. It works so don’t judge me!

Brown the rice stirring it frequently. Then add diced mild green chilis, diced onions and minced garlic. Cook on medium for about 3-4 minutes more while stirring frequently. It’s important the rice get really brown…not burned, but visibly brown. It’s right about where it needs to be in the next photo.

Next…add in one small can of spicy V8 (something I always keep on hand) and stir.

Add in enough water to cover the rice completely (you want the liqued to be about an inch to an inch and a half above the rice). Give it a good stir and add some chicken bouillon cubes or powder along with some salt to taste. Do taste the liquid to make sure it has a perfect balance of flavors. The spicy V8 will do most the work…but check to make sure it did. Bring everything to a boil. Once it’s boiling give it one last stir, reduce heat to simmer/low and cover. Let cook for 23 minutes exactly (this is the right time on my stovetop). Do not uncover at the 23 minute mark. Let sit removed from burner and all heat, covered for another 10 minutes before uncovering. This is the key to perfectly plump and moist rice. Never uncover and stir your rice right away…even if it’s not the spanish type!

When you uncover it…it should look like this.

 If it doesn’t you might have added too much water or not enough. It’s hard to say. Keep trying. Don’t forget to fluff the rice with a fork and mix in the mild green chilis that drifted off to the sides of the pan.

This rice is so addictive I can only make it when I’m attending an event or having company for fear of eating the leftovers morning, noon and evening. When I do have leftovers I use them in my slow cooked stuffed peppers or as a side dish for a mexican main dish like enchiladas.

You can substitue the mild green chilis for chopped green bell peppers or just add frozen peas & carrots right before covering your rice. I used to use one of those vegetables…that is, until I made it with mild green chilis for the first time. The flavor combo with them and the hint of the spicy V8 in the background are a fearless combination that I rarely alter.

~ by oneshotbeyond on June 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

