4th of July

A couple of my readers emailed me prior to the holiday and asked what I was going to be cooking on the 4th for the BBQ I was attending. I didn’t decide until the last minute so here’s the what I ended up making (I know it’s a bit late-sorry)!

White chocolate cake truffles with spice cake and honey inside. They were a hit big hit and so festive too!

If you haven’t made your own version of these cake truffles yet you are missing out on one of the best tasting desserts around. There are fun to make too! I remembered to show you the inside this time…so moist, so sweet and so fantastic!

Next dish was my own roasted potato, green bean, asparagus and bacon salad. I add in fresh rosemary, lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, grated parmesan and salt and pepper for a light twist on the traditional mayo smothered potato salads. This potato salad was gone before I could get seconds of it. I served it cold this time, but it can be served warm too. Love versatile dishes like this one!

Then I had to try something different…THIS hot olive & artichoke dip. Of course I changed it up some and threw it in my mini crock pot instead of turning on the oven. I also let it slow cook for about an hour and a half and then added a crusty top to it by chopping up some garlic and herb homemade croutons. I forgot to take a photo after it was bubbly and extra wonderful because I was busy enjoying some. It was so flavorful and comforting!

This year’s bbq was so HUGE and FUN. We had everything from ribs, super tender specialty steaks, corn, baked beans, mac-n-cheese, pasta salads, cake, fruit salads, rolls, green salad and homemade coleslaw.  Here’s a snapshot I grabbed of three of my nephews watching the firework show set off by family & friends.

This is a group shot of all the kids that came to enjoy a safe holiday…you can tell by the amount of kids alone how big of a party this was. So many good times all packed into one day!

I hope you all enjoyed the holiday as much as we did! 🙂

~ by oneshotbeyond on July 5, 2009.

16 Responses to “4th of July”

  1. Very cool! I need you to cook for me! lol Of course, I wouldnt be able to move if I at all of your yummy dishes.

  2. Those cake truffles look so good. I really like the shot with the kids watching the fireworks — really captures the spirit of the day.

  3. How do you find the time for all that cooking? It looks like a great spread and a wonderful holiday for all. I’ll be trying your potato salad soon.

  4. Thanks Julie L.- I’d cook for you anytime!

    Ampersand-the truffles are yummy!

    Julie M.- I got up at 6:30 am to get it all made. Took about 3 hours to complete the task. Lots of music and coffee to keep me motivated! 🙂

  5. You are something else!!!! Oozing talent.

  6. Dee-licious, I’m sure. They look gorgeous, those truffles…yummy!

  7. These look great – no celebration in the UK of course, but I’d still eat them!

  8. Heather, Heather, Heather…If I invite you to a BBQ next Year will you and the family come? Will you bring all that good stuff with you? I enjoyed this entire posting from the good food to the family holding all the fireworks. The single truffel shot is mouth watering and the kids watching the fireworks is very cool. I’m off to comment on the Zelsa posting. I viewed the slideshow yesterday and it too was super cool.

  9. I meant to spell Zelda.

  10. You had me at White chocolate cake truffles!!

  11. Great shots – I love the one with the one bite/cut taken out of it…looks like you had a fun 4th!

  12. good times indeed!! great FUN!!

  13. Did I ever tell you what a great cook you are? You should do something related to cooking for a side job!!

    Looks like you had a great day!

  14. Everything looks delicious.

  15. How fun even if I’m late to your party. The inside of the truffle shot is so amazing. The potato salad is what I want to make.

  16. I’m glad you all had a wonderful day…..I’m sure they all had an AMAZING meal!!!! The shot of your truffles is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

