Tasty Tuesday: Tortilla Soup

Sometimes soup soothes more than a growling tummy. I like using up my leftovers by making a light and tasty tortilla topped soup.

Method:

Saute leftover chopped chicken and a few tablespoons of crumbled sausage in olive oil with your favorite seasonings. (I used cayenne, cumin, dried basil, salt, pepper, chopped onion & garlic).

Add in a can or two of beans (I used black beans).

Add in a can of sweet corn or frozen.

Add in a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes.

Add in a couple cans or 1/2 a carton of chicken broth.

Bring to a boil and then back down to a simmer for 20-30 minutes.

Notes:

I also had some leftover asparagus ends (frozen) that I boiled in broth and blended with spices to create a thick veggie puree to throw in at the same time as the broth. This gives the soup a distinct depth of flavor and a little more thickness.

Garnish with some tortilla chips, cheese, cilantro, sour cream or avocado for a decadent finish.

Grab your leftovers and see what you can throw together…you might be happily surprised!

~ by oneshotbeyond on July 27, 2009.

12 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Tortilla Soup”

  1. i always see these posts WAY too early in the morning. i’m ready for lunch NOW 🙂

  2. Yummy….You really need to make a cookbook! 🙂

  3. cant beat a good tortillas soup thats for sure!

  4. Yum yum 🙂

  5. I love tortilla soup – your version looks and sounds amazing. Great photo.

  6. Lovely food shot, as always. Looks delish.

    You’ve inspired me to try some food shots too. If and when I get anything good, I’ll blog it.

  7. Sweet! I’ve been looking for a new recipe for Tortilla Soup to try, and I’ve printed off yours! Yeah! Thanks for sharing!!!

  8. So when did you say your cookbook was coming out? Another amazing food shot!

  9. LOVE this photo, and now it is 11pm and I’m hungry for soup!

  10. Oooooh! I can taste it from here!!! Lovely photo. Sounds so easy. Making me hungry. Which reminds me. I must get dinner started. 😀

  11. That is one tasty looking soup!

  12. I’m with Cristen…..I sense a cookbook in the making!

Leave a Reply

