Tasty Tuesday: Banana & Coconut Muffins

These and all things like these are my greatest downfall.

(click to enlarge)

I leave off the coconut on a few of the muffins for non coconut lovers…like my son.

(click to enlarge)

These are really dense, rich and moist. I adore banana and coconut flavors together. So…so…perfect.

Banana Coconut Muffins by Heather McCullah

INGREDIENTS:

1 box spice cake

1 pkg coconut cream instant pudding mix

4 eggs

1 cup sour cream

1/2 c water

1/2 c vegetable oil

2 mashed ripe or over-ripe bananas

8 oz cream cheese or vanilla frosting

1 & 1/2 cups toasted coconut

METHOD:

1. Prepare muffin pans with paper liners or grease & flour them.

2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

3. Mix cake mix, dry pudding mix, eggs, sour cream, water and vegetable oil for 2 minutes with mixer or 3 minutes by hand.

4. Fold in mashed bananas to the mixture.

5. Fill muffin cups with mixture until approximately 3/4 full.

6. Bake in preheated oven until done (will be around 25 minutes depending on your oven).

7. Let muffins cool.

8. Frost muffins with store bought or homemade frosting. (I don’t go heavy on the frosting…just a little something to hold the toasted coconut on with). I used cream cheese frosting on this batch.

9. Toast coconut in dry frying pan for about 1 minute and 30 seconds over med-high heat, tossing frequently.

10. Lightly sprinkle lots of toasted coconut on top of each frosted muffin.

~ by oneshotbeyond on August 10, 2009.

11 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Banana & Coconut Muffins”

  1. OMG! 2 amazing things that I love together! Bananas and coconut! WOW these look awesome!! YUMMMMMM!

  2. Could a muffin get any tastier? These look amazing to me…extra coconut please.

  3. The sure look good!!

  4. I have never heard of such a thing, Heather…banana and coconut muffins. I bet they’re delicious!

  5. WOW. Fantastic! I am sure they tasted scrumptious!

  6. Holy Delicious. And now I am craving moist rich yumminess

  7. These look so wonderfully, horribly, amazingly tasty – definitely trying this recipe on Jeff!

  8. Oh baby!!!!! Toss some of them over here!

  9. I copied the recipe down on this one!

  10. what a delicious cake…ehhmmmmm…wish i could taste it

  11. mmmm!!! nice greasy warm muffins! and I do love coconut!

Leave a Reply

