Tasty Tuesday: Vodka Basil Pasta

Pasta rocks my world and I’ve got to stop letting it do that to me.

I will…one day soon, but not before I share some of my favorites! This pasta dish I make has the most luscious, creamy sauce ever created. Brittany and I have to really stop ourselves from eating the entire pan full of lusciousness!

INGREDIENTS:

1 lb bow tie pasta

12 oz can crushed tomatoes with oregano & basil seasonings

3/4 cup vodka

1 cup heavy cream

3-4 shallots

4-5 cloves garlic

olive oil

butter

salt

pepper

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (optional)

1/2 cup parmesan cheese (fresh and grated)

1/2 cup cheddar cheese (grated)

METHOD:

Mince shallots and garlic.

Cook pasta according to box or bag directions while preparing your sauce. Heat 1 & 1/2 tablespoons olive oil in large pan. Add 2 tablespoons real butter to oil and stir until melted. Add in the shallots and garlic plus the crushed red pepper flakes-if using. Cook onions and garlic for at least 3-4 minutes over medium heat stirring constantly.

Slowly & carefully add in the vodka and cook another 3 to 4 minutes. Reduce heat to low. Add in the crushed tomatoes and cook while stirring for 1 minute. Add in salt and pepper to taste. Slowly add in the cream and stir. Simmer over the low heat for 2-4 minutes to heat through-stir it often.

Drain pasta and combine it with the sauce. Add in grated cheeses and lightly stir until cheeses are melted. Serve with soft buttered bread and salad. Garnish with more grated cheese & fresh basil if desired.

Here’s another version I made once without the basil and with macaroni noodles instead of bow tie pasta. This one was less saucy, but still great. I actually threw this one in the oven with some bread crumbs for a crunchy finish. I love experimenting with meals. I hardly ever make the same exact thing twice!

~ by oneshotbeyond on August 25, 2009.

7 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Vodka Basil Pasta”

  1. this looks incredible!

  2. Heather, you REALLY DO need to print a cookbook with your recipes and photos to accompany. As starters, a “Blurb” book as a Christmas gift for family and friends?!?!?!?!

  3. OMG heather! seriously – ur an amazing cook!
    i agree with sue – a blurb book of all of your recipes and photos!!

  4. I am in the same pasta boat as you – I love it and it loves me!

  5. I have a feeling that if I ever tasted this, I’d crave it!

  6. This sounds wonderful! I am loving summer pasta dishes lately. Once a week can’t be bad, right?

    ~Susan

  7. thanks for the great quality of your website, each time i come here, i’m amazed.

Leave a Reply

