Choosing the Right Camera-FOR YOU!

I am still shooting with my faithful old Nikon D80. I wanted to mention it because so many people think they have to have the best of the best in gear to get great results. I get emails all the time asking me which starting camera I’d recommend for a beginner to the DSLR world. The truth is these days the camera you choose really has no bearing on the images you will produce. All DSLR’s are made to do the basic things new & experienced photographers need them to do. What does have a bearing on the outcome of your photos is your ability to utilize your camera’s features and for you to pick the right lenses for the right subjects and lighting. Of course a decent eye and your own unique style of shooting will be major contributing factors too.

I personally would love to have the D700 or even the D300 sitting in my gear bag right now or even moreso wrapped around my neck, but I have held off on upgrading to one of them. The main reason is because the NEED for one doesn’t outweigh my WANT for one at this time. My D80-together with the right lenses can produce results I am completely happy and fulfilled with (and my clients too). I really want people to understand that going outside their means to get the best gear isn’t necessary when you’re first starting out as a photographer or a hobbiest. I know my D80 inside and out. When I went looking for a camera I literally went into the camera store time and time again to hold different cameras and shoot with them before deciding on one. I didn’t go into buying a camera with even a set brand in mind. I needed to feel the camera in my hands before knowing what I liked. The D80 felt the most comfy in my hands. Every feature on it made sense to me. Even if you end up buying a camera online for the best deal…make sure you’ve held and shot with the camera you end up buying. So my advice is this:

Get a camera you can handle, learn all of it’s features and work within your means to get results you can be proud of!

Now, when it comes to picking the right dog…pay top dollar and get a Doberman. They are the VERY BEST and you’ll never have to upgrade! 🙂


~ by oneshotbeyond on September 6, 2009.

6 Responses to “Choosing the Right Camera-FOR YOU!”

  1. Couldnt agree more regarding cameras. Mine is now a few “generations” old and yet does what I ask of it. Money can buy more with cameras, but that doesn’t necessarily mean extra money spent is a wise investment.

  2. Spot on camera advice but I truly believe that shelter dogs rule! 🙂

  3. Thanks for the purchasing a camera tips! As far as the dobe, many years ago, we had dobes. I loved them. They were faithful and true. The worst thing you could have done was to pet one of them. You were their friend for life after that! They have a bum rap for a rep. Some dogs are taught to be guard dogs or not treated right and they can get mean. But raised with loving care, firm authority and treated right, these dogs are no more of a threat than any other run of the mill dog – full blooded or a Hines 57.

  4. I agree with you on this! For me, it was all about the lenses when I bought my camera. I wanted to be able to shoot with a very shallow depth of field and a friend of mine used a canon 50 mm f/1.4 and I admired his shot so much. So that is where I started. I think I will spend my money on new lenses long before I invest in a newer camera body.

  5. Choosing the right camera is the big thing in Photographer.A camera should be photographers friend.

  6. Great camera advice. I am in the market for a new one since mine is old and slowly dying so thank you for this post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

