Tasty Tuesday: Red Chili Stew

This is the best slow cooker stew I know how to make. It requires little effort and gives off the most aromatic loveliness you could ever imagine. It’s just a big pot of comfort. I don’t usually say that about a meal that doesn’t include cheese. The hominy is virtually unrecognizable after cooking in the liquid all day-so if you think you don’t like hominy I wouldn’t rule this fabulous red chili stew out. I came up with this recipe after trying tons of different southwest stews. I like it’s rustic simplicity and I LOVE the smoky mild flavors of this stew. My kids ask for this one time and time again.

Try it…or miss out. Your choice! 😉

(click to enlarge)

Heather’s Slow Cooker Red Chili Stew

INGREDIENTS:

6 chicken breasts

1 tbsp olive oil

2-3 cloves minced garlic

1 medium chopped onion

salt & pepper to taste

2-3 small cans hot minced green chilis

1 16 oz can tomato sauce

1 10 oz can red chili sauce

1 16 oz can hominy (water partially drained, but not completely)

2 oz water

6 medium red potatoes chopped

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 tbsp cumin

METHOD:

Chop chicken into bite size cubes. Saute onion and garlic 2-3 minutes in olive oil. Season chicken with cumin, salt, pepper and smoked paprika. Saute chicken in the same pan with the onions and garlic until brown (adding a bit more olive oil if necessary). Spray slow cooker with pam and pour tomato sauce, hominy, chili sauce, green chilies and water inside. Gently mix them together (It will look quite unappetizing, but trust me that will drastically change in about 8 hours). Drain grease from chicken and add it all to the crock pot, lightly stir it in as you add it. Add chopped potatoes on top of everything else, but do not stir. Cook on the low setting in your crock pot for 8 hours.

Serve with bread. It will be perfect for soaking up the sauce with.

NOTE: I cut the chicken and potatoes in cubes that are the same size so they cook evenly.

~ by oneshotbeyond on September 28, 2009.

10 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Red Chili Stew”

  1. love the light in this photo!
    looks great!

  2. This smoky stew looks great! Definitely different than your typical chili.

  3. […] agreed that we are letting Heather provide lunch today.  She’s got RED CHILI STEW.  We’re figurin’ you’d […]

  4. Yum yum, and as Jen said – a great shot too. Perfect for those winter nights that are already setting in over here.

  5. I’ll have to give this a try. Is the red chili sauce similar to red enchilada sauce?

  6. Love the color the chicken has taken on.

    I’d like to calibrate my monitor… could you send me some of this stew so I can compare colors? 🙂

  7. Pam,

    It’s not enchilada sauce but it is right near it at my grocery store. Simply says “chili sauce” on it.

  8. I was just craving chili and stew today with the turn of the weather. Mmmmmmm.

  9. LOL…..love Andy’s comment! Monitor needs calibrating…too funny!

    Another great shot featuring a tasty sounding recipe. How’s your photo recipe book coming along? 😉

  10. I doubt hominy is available up here (not sure I’ve ever had it, actually) but I might try and substitute white kidney beans. Have to do it on the stovetop since I don’t have a slowcooker. It looks and sounds wonderful so should be worth a try!

Leave a Reply

