Tasty Tuesday: Classic Macaroni & Cheese

A comfort food like no other.

Macaroni & Cheese! I like mine extra creamy, extra cheesy and positively simple. I don’t need the crusty bread crumb topping or the added flavors from herbs, onion or garlic in this particular dish. All that I do is make up the sauce with butter, milk, a splash of cream, lemon juice (yes, I just said lemon juice-just a couple splashes to perk it up) salt & pepper & extra sharp cheddar cheese. I’m sorry…but EGGS don’t belong in the sauce. I only like the giant elbow noodles for my macaroni & cheese. The crevices of those noodles are perfect for collecting the sauce and creating a really creamy dish! When I’m making a more adult friendly mac n cheese I tend to lean towards white cheeses and always include blue cheese as one of them. I like to add a crusty top to those versions. I am always surprised at how many people haven’t made homemade macaroni and cheese. It’s the easiest.

I made this for Colton’s birthday and again for his team party for football this past weekend. Such a hit with the kids!

These pictures were taken before baking the dish. I always add a layer of cheese right on top before baking. 🙂

You want some. Right?

~ by oneshotbeyond on October 12, 2009.

11 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Classic Macaroni & Cheese”

  1. Ahh the classics – always the best for me. Your shots look so yummy.

  2. I love homemade mac and cheese and yours looks delicious! I like to add a little nutmeg to the sauce….

  3. Sounds yummy — haven’t made it in a while because of the weather, but that photo has me craving it! Agree that keeping it simple is the best way to go with macacheese, but goodness I’ve tried some decadent variations! ; )

  4. Yup! You are so right….I want some!

    I may have to make some this afternoon. Great idea.

  5. oh my goodness this looks amazing!
    i totally want some right now!!

  6. YUM YUM YUM. This is soul food for me but I NEVER make it! Can you believe it??!!

  7. Yum! such inviting shots. I love to have the roasted garlic flavor in mine…

  8. Now that my kids are grown and gone I can finally make mac and cheese from something other than the dreaded “blue box.” This looks fantastic.

  9. *drool* Now I know exactly what I am going to have for lunch today!

  10. This is serious torture as I don’t have time to make a nice dinner tonight and we’ll end up eating leftovers. This looks soooo delicious.
    – Brianna @ http://www.lastfortypercentblog.com

  11. Yours looks great! Beautiful photos! I want to dive into this Mac n’ cheese now!!

Leave a Reply

