Tasty Tuesday: Not So Skimpy Chicken Soup-Inland Empire Food Photographer

I make soups all winter long and this is the easiest one I’ve ever made. I love how incredibly quick it is to make. It’s not necessarily all the way “homemade” but tastes better than most homemade Chicken Noodle Soups I’ve had. It’s also not skimpy by any means.

Just look at how chunky it is…

(click to enlarge)

Having both noodles and potatoes along with tons of thick cut veggies is key to making this soup hearty enough for the most hungry of eaters!

Tell me you’re not drooling just a little?

Not So Skimpy Chicken Soup by Heather McCullah

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups shredded or pulled apart rotisserie cooked chicken

1/2 chopped onion

1 green pepper rough chopped

1 red pepper rough chopped

3-4 cloves garlic minced

2 zucchini rough chopped medium zucchini

4 medium red potatoes diced into about 6 pieces (8 pieces if using large potatoes)

1-2 carrots or a handful of baby carrots chopped

1 or 2 handfuls of pasta wheels or other pasta noodles

1 can of your favorite cream soup (I used cream of cheddar, but also use cream of chicken, cream of mushroom or cream of celery depending on what’s in the pantry)

1 small can of italian flavored diced tomatoes or omit if you’re not into tomatoes and add in an extra can of chicken broth (I make it both ways regularly)

2 cans of chicken broth

water to fill the rest of the pot

1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

2-3 dashes of fresh lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon of smoked paprika

1/2 teaspoon of dried rosemary or fresh if you have some

Italian parsley for garnishing

Olive oil

METHOD:

Saute onion, green pepper, red pepper, garlic and carrots in a little olive oil until just beginning to turn soft. Add in all liqued ingredients & dry seasonings and stir. Bring to a rapid boil for a few minutes. Taste and adjust seasonings accordingly. Add in potatoes and boil for until the potatoes are about half way cooked through. Then add in one or two handfuls of pasta. Continue to boil until pasta and potatoes are both done. Add in your precooked chicken, stir, simmer for a few minutes to heat the chicken all the way through, check the flavors and serve it up!

NOTES:

I probably use a lot more seasonings than indicated above…those estimates are just a guideline to use as a starting point for your soup. I also swap out the rosemary and use basil leaves quite often so use whatever you have or like best!

I use a 6 quart cast iron pot for making this soup.

~ by oneshotbeyond on January 4, 2010.

7 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Not So Skimpy Chicken Soup-Inland Empire Food Photographer”

  1. I need this in Pennsylvania right now. Cold and blustery.

    Here, we’d be adding corn for our chicken corn soup. I like the idea of zucchini in it.

  2. Yum! As usual, your Tasty Tuesday offering is very tempting!

  3. I think I saw some letters in that soup – in fact I did – I see my name all over this tastiness!

  4. Send this with teh breakfast dish…

    I live Chicken soup! never had it with zucchini before but it sure looks great.

    It WILL be todays special at oscars… so send a few gallons!

  5. […] special is Homemade Chicken Soup  It’s flown in from the West coast by our friend Heather at OSBP. It looks delicious! Oh […]

  6. OMG! I forgot just how much I love Tasty Tuesday!

  7. I really like how this soup is packed full of goodness!

Leave a Reply

