Tasty Tuesday: Boxed Cake Made Great

I’m not sure if I’ve admitted before or not…but I’m not really that good of a baker. I use prepackaged boxed cakes A LOT. I can make banana bread from scratch and possibly some oatmeal cookies too. I just don’t make cakes, pies and specialty items that often…nor do I like measuring & sifting the way baking so often requires. Thus…you will find I like to be lazy and make something great out of prepackaged boxed cake mixes whenever possible. This strawberry infused cake is so delicate and moist that nobody will care it came from a box. My grandmother and aunt have made their own versions since I was born and it was my childhood favorite. I was surprised that my daughter asked for it this year for her seventeenth birthday. I think it’s glorious for special occasions…think birthdays, anniversaries, Valentine’s Day, Mother’s Day, Easter, Get Well Wishes, Welcome Home-I think you get my drift.

Here’s the how to:

Start by dumping a bag of defrosted frozen strawberries into a bowl and adding 2 tbsp’s sugar to it. Mix gently and let sit in the refrigerator several hours or over night. Place a tub of cool whip in the refrigerator at the same time to defrost. Then prepare a white boxed cake mix according to the package directions. Reserve a 1/2 cup of the batter in a small bowl and pour remaining batter into prepared round cake pans. Add about 2-3 drops of red food coloring to the 1/2 cup of batter and combine until pinkish. Use a spoon to swirl half of this batter on top of each cake pan filled with the white batter (see below).

You can use any color you’d like.

Bake your cake as directed…it should come out looking like this:

Let the cakes cool. Transfer cakes to individual plates. Then use a fork to poke several holes in the top of each cake layer.

Take out your pretty and sweet smelling strawberry mixture.

Carefully slather the strawberry mixture on top of the 1st layer of cake.

Prepare your cool whip by adding 3-4 tbsp’s of the strawberry mixture’s juice into it and about 3-4 drops of red food coloring. Mix gently until desired color is achieved.

Frost the 1st layer of the cake that is covered with strawberries. Don’t worry about the sides yet.

Place the 2nd layer of cake on top of the the frosted layer and repeat the process of slathering strawberries on top of it. Then frost that layer and all the sides.

This is how mine looked from the side:

From the top it looked like soft pink clouds! šŸ™‚

I would have snapped a shot of the inside, but we ate it too fast. So sorry…

I have to say I’m dying to try this cake with frozen peaches sometime. Doesn’t that sound amazing too? You can also substitute fresh fruit when it’s in season…just prepare it by slicing and adding a few tbsp’s water to it when you add in the sugar. That way you will give the fruit something to develop juice with! I hope you will try one of my most favorite cakes! šŸ™‚

Here’s Brittany with her birthday cake-

~ by oneshotbeyond on January 26, 2010.

9 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Boxed Cake Made Great”

  1. LOL Heather. I made a cake almost exactly like this last Thursday. Our son and his family have started coming over for dinner on Thursday nights and I have started cooking a full meal, including dessert, that night. It’s fun for ALL of us; tasty too!

  2. Hey there is nothing wrong with using a boxed cake in your recipe!!! I cook a bunch and have a southern hubby who likes desert with his meals so I bake 3 to 4 times a week and a lot of my recipes have a boxed cake mix in them….I am going to try this one

  3. You’re forgiven for everything except for not inviting me, Heather! šŸ˜€

    Actually, the first day I found out my ex-husband could bake pies and cookies, I told him I would never do it again. From that point, he and the kids always did the dessert baking…and I stuck to the meals. šŸ˜€

  4. Looks amazing. I’m all for baking the easy way. Especially with great results like this. Boxed or not, a lot of love went into it. šŸ™‚

  5. That looks great! Thanks for the detailed directions and of course, the photos. I have several family members who will love this one!

  6. OMG. That looks like it tastes amazing. Too bad I am allergic to strawberries or I would be ALL over this one!

  7. wow! not just a beautiful cake, but such a delicious progression! very nicely done šŸ™‚

  8. can you mail me one?? Mmmmmmm Mmmmm! Awesome!
    Looks sooo good!

  9. Can I have a piece?

Leave a Reply

