Tasty Tuesday: Brawny Style Potatoes

Here’s one of those great side dishes that can accompany any meat or even stand alone as a meal. Robust enough for your favorite cowboy…guaranteed. 😉

I don’t know what made me think to mix the ingredients that make these so unique, but I’m glad I did.

Brawny Style Potatoes served on top of baby spinach with a simple boneless pork chop on top:

(click to enlarge)

Brawny Style Potatoes

by Heather McCullah

INGREDIENTS:

6-8 potatoes

4 carrots peeled & chopped extra thick

olive oil

salt/pepper/cumin to taste

3-5 tbsp’s water (if using a slow cooker)

1 can Stag Chili (Any Style, I use the turkey chili)

METHOD:

Scrub and rinse potatoes

Slice potatoes into thick slices (about 3/4 inch thick, leaving skins on them)

Scrub and rinse carrots

Peel & slice into thick chunks (about 2 inches per chunk)

Drizzle with a very small amount of olive oil until coated

Season with salt, pepper and cumin to your liking.

Option #1-Roast in an oven safe dish until done at 425 degrees.

or

Option #2-Toss into a slow cooker and add the water. Cook for about 4 hours on low or until done.

Add one can of stag chili to the potatoes and give everything a gentle toss to mix. Heat for 5 – 10 more minutes in the oven or slow cooker.

Serve alone or with any meat and veggie you like.

🙂

~ by oneshotbeyond on March 16, 2010.

7 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Brawny Style Potatoes”

  1. I was already hungry BEFORE I came to your blog. Now? Im STARVING!

  2. YAY! Tasty Tuesday is working! 😉

  3. Thank you for visiting and the nice comment. Your photography is beautiful!

  4. I love everything in this…I’m copying it down as I type…another great dinner idea…thanks – looking forward to trying it!

  5. OMG! Mouth-watering!

  6. no problem Tammy!

    Thanks Denise. 🙂

    Ginnie-isn’t almost all food “mouth-watering”? For me…it is!

  7. I’ll be over later!

Leave a Reply

