Tasty Tuesday: Mini Bacon Wrapped & Cheese Infused Meatloaf Muffins

I know I’ve said it before, but my daughter doesn’t care for cheese. I know…it’s strange. Well…what’s really strange is that macaroni & cheese is her favorite. She also doesn’t mind pizza with cheese on it. I haven’t figured out why she only likes cheese in certain forms and on certain dishes. What I’ve found is that I can work around the cheese issue once in a while. I love my meatloaf to be cheesy. I had been wanting to try bacon wrapped meatloaf for a while now…so I decided to test it out on mini sized meatloafs. I figured I could leave the cheese out of some so my daughter would be happy. It worked out perfectly. I think mini meatloaf muffins might be just the trick for customizing dinners for pickier eaters. πŸ™‚ I’m going to be making my meatloaf this way from now on.

(Click to Enlarge)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Make the meatloaf mixture you usually make. Grease a muffin tin. Cut each slice of bacon in half. Chop cheddar cheese into small chunks (about 1 inch squares). Roll meatloaf mix into muffin size balls and wrap with one piece of the sliced bacon. Place into muffin tins. Slice an opening into the top of each meatloaf muffin. Place 2 -3 chunks of cheese inside (one will be sticking out). Slather with sauce if you’d like to. Bake at 375 for 30-45 minutes or until cooked through (they take less time than a loaf, but all ovens vary so check them often your first time)!

~ by oneshotbeyond on April 6, 2010.

12 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Mini Bacon Wrapped & Cheese Infused Meatloaf Muffins”

  1. mmm…i wonder if these would be acceptable for breakfast?

  2. I never seen meatloaf muffins…how original (and pretty)! Another one I MUST try! πŸ™‚

  3. Mmmm indeed. Been a while since I’ve printed out one of your recipies (because I’ve been busy not because I haven’t wanted to). This will be done this weekend.

  4. @ohana photographers: I would eat these for breakfast! πŸ™‚

  5. I told them the same thing Kathdedon!

    Tammy…I hadn’t either, but I’m so glad somebody mentioned them to me.

    I’m glad you like my recipes Kevin. I just do them to inspire others to cook at home instead of taking out. It seems to not be the “in” thing to do anymore. πŸ˜‰

  6. This looks so good! What a unique way to make meatloaf! Your daughter sounds just like my fiance – he only likes cheese on certain things and refuses to eat it on other things. Kids – go figure πŸ˜‰

  7. My daughyter is a gourmet cook, Heather, and doesn’t like mushrooms! Go figure. So I do understand. In the meantime, keep doing what you do best…cooking and taking photos. πŸ˜€

  8. oops! I usually don’t come visit your photos on an empty stomach. What a clever way to do a meatloaf and as always beautifully shot.

  9. Love bacon on pork roasts; this looks like a great idea. Yummy photograph. (Particularly at 11:30 PM and I eat my pathetic sub for a late supper.)

  10. I do mini meatloaf in muffin tins quite frequently. The only drawback I can see is that it’s not a easy to make cold meatloaf sandwiches with the leftovers! πŸ˜‰

  11. i love meatloaf. i’ll have to try this for my grandkids. btw i also like the photo.

  12. Ginnie~

    My kids don’t like mushrooms either and I love them! It’s hard to work around that one though so I tend to make mushrooms as a 3rd side most times instead of incorporating them into a dish.

    Andy~

    I never thought to try bacon on pork roasts. Great idea!

    Sue~

    You are so right, but I never have any meatloaf leftovers to make sandwiches with in the 1st place! I’d have to make 2 batches I guess. The only time I have one is when I’m out and order it. They are so good on grilled parmesan crusted sourdough!

    Thank you Robin! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

