Tasty Tuesday: The Best & Most Juicy Pork Taco Meat

One of the most indulgent versions of tacos. Meat so juicy & full of green chili flavoring…you can’t get enough.

Some people like them just like this…

others go for the fully loaded style below

I can take them either way! 🙂

The Best & Most Juicy Pork Taco Meat by Heather McCullah

INGREDIENTS:

1 pork shoulder roast

1 large jar green chili verde salsa

2 limes squeezed of their juices

2 large jalapenos seeded and minced

6-8 minced green olives minced

3 tablespoons juice from the green olives


METHOD:

Heat 1 tbsp olive oil up in a cast iron skillet or large saute pan. Brown pork roast on both sides. Place pork roast in a large slow cooker set on low for 8 hours. Mix green chili salsa, lime juice, minced jalapenos, minced green olives and green olive juice together in a medium bowl. Pour mixture over the roast, cover and let cook 6 hours. Remove lid after 6 hours and shred meat with two forks while still in the liquid mixture. Cover and cook for another hour. After 7 hours use a strainer to drain the liquid from the meat and place the meat back in the slow cooker. Turn the slow cooker on high and cook for an additional hour. This is where the meat will get some browning on it’s edges (my favorite part)!  After 8 hours your taco meat will be ready for turning into the most fabulous tacos!

VARIATIONS:

Use meat to make a yummy salad, tostada, burrito or anything else you can think of!

~ by oneshotbeyond on April 13, 2010.

12 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: The Best & Most Juicy Pork Taco Meat”

  1. Beautiful food shots and all my fav food groups in one meal! Probably needs garlic…

  2. this does look the the tastiest most juicy taco meat – I love me some tacos!

  3. Ellen,

    I’m surprised it tastes so good without garlic! I bet there is some in that chili verde salsa (I’ll have to look next time I grab a bottle).

    It really is Doggybloggy!

  4. You have an amazing talent. I have tried food, but I just can’t get the details right. This looks delicious.

  5. Awe Clara…keep trying! Cooking definitely takes lots of practice!

  6. These are great shots and the tacos look yummy. I just bought a new pressure cooker and it would be perfect for making this. I’ll let you know how it goes. How do you do the tortillas?

  7. This is just making my mouth water looking at it…I swear I just gained 5 lbs…LOL Almost too pretty to eat though!

  8. Please send ME the fully loaded style!!

  9. I so love this…………I am starving now

  10. Julie-These tortillas are lightly fried and corn.

    Tammy-I gained more than five off the 3 I ate that night! LOL

    Meleah-I wish I could! You are so far from me!

    Mike-Bad thing to look at when you’re starved.;-)

  11. Ok, next time I’m west coast – you cook , I’ll bring the drinks…

  12. As I mentioned to you earlier, I made your recipe today. I did the meat in the pressure cooker rather than slow cooker and it filled the house with delicious aromas. All four of us LOVED the tacos. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

