Tasty Tuesday: Quick Ravioli Soup

I made this soup last week. WOW. It was a WINNER. I didn’t even bother topping it with some fresh parmesan or soft warm bread for dipping. When I make it again I will. It would finish off the meal with an elegant touch. You wouldn’t think this meal would reheat well, but shockingly it tasted great (almost better) the next day too. If you haven’t tried one of my recipes…make this the one you try. It’s pretty healthy for a pasta dish, totally flavorful & very quick!

(click to enlarge)

Ravioli Soup by Heather McCullah

INGREDIENTS:

1 orange bell pepper (seeded and diced)

3/4 onion (diced)

2 cloves garlic (minced)

1-2 tsp’s olive oil

11 oz can tomato bisque soup (condensed)

3 cans (reuse the tomato soup can) chicken broth

1 14.5 can fire roasted tomatoes (diced)

Juice of 1/2 lemon

3 small zucchini (sliced thick)

24 oz frozen mini cheese ravioli’s or regular size

2 tsp’s salt or to your taste

2 tsp’s pepper or to your taste

1/4Β  tsp cayenne pepper

2 tbsp italian seasoning (I use a dried tomato & basil mix I have on hand)

Optional: 1-2 slices bacon chopped tiny (cooked with the onions & peppers as a base layer of flavor for the soup;Β  reserve some crumbles to top the individual bowls of soup with)

METHOD:

Saute the onion & orange bell pepper for 2-4 minutes. Add italian seasonings, tomato soup, chicken broth, fire roasted tomatoes, lemon juice, salt, pepper & cayenne pepper. Bring to a rapid boil. Turn down to simmer for about 10 minutes. Add zucchini and cook for 5 more minutes over high heat. Add frozen ravioli’s and cook until done.

Top with freshly grated parmesan chesse and serve with your favorite warm bread for dipping into the wonderful broth.

Variations: add in yellow summer squash or any other vegetable, add in some white beans, add in fresh herbs

~ by oneshotbeyond on May 3, 2010.

10 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Quick Ravioli Soup”

  1. That looks delicious!! I’ll have to give it a try! πŸ™‚

  2. I want to come hang out at your house! I think I would enjoy your food and your family. You always sound like you have SO MUCH FUN!

  3. My mouth is watering and the cravings are beginning…another recipe I have to try!!

  4. I’m sure others have said to. You should write a cookbook!

    This sounds “delish”

  5. This will be great for the vegetarian (my youngest) in the family. Thanks!

  6. this is delicious! i have to make this!!

  7. Tracy-I’m glad you want to try it!

    Sue-I’d love it if you could come hang out for a day or two…we’d have so much fun shooting things and eating! lol

    Tammy…go for it!

    Oscar-I wish I had the time to do so! Maybe one day…

    Andy…awesome!

    Jen…you will totally like it and Chris too when he returns home to you!

  8. It looks very tasty. Nicely photographed also. I might have to put a couple of drops of my white truffle oil on it!

  9. […] My ravioli soup getting good and ready for serving. Find the recipe for it here. […]

  10. […] My ravioli soup getting good and ready for serving. Find the recipe for it here. […]

Leave a Reply

