Burning Hate

After reading THIS the other day by Natalie Norton I kept letting the idea of hate roll around in my mind. I remember standing in the very spot that I photographed below and  wondering to myself who would have so much hate in their heart to be capable of burning up the beauty nature offers us. I realize hate comes from a place I do not understand, cannot understand & am unwilling to understand. I know there are things worth hating, but are there really people worth hating?

I personally don’t know that I’ve ever hated a person. I know I’ve tried to talk myself into it at times. It just seemed to take up too much energy to make happen. The truth is…sometimes people are heartless, self centered & even cruel. I don’t hang out with those people. I don’t listen to those people. I don’t worry over them. I use them as examples for occasional stories/lessons I teach my children about. That is about the best thing you can do with people you’re inclined to hate.

If you have burning hate growing in your heart for somebody else at this moment…consider letting it go, or at the very least working at letting it go. I truly believe letting hate reside inside of you does more damage to you than it does to the person or thing you’re trying to control. The more focus you put on hating the more hate you will feel inside of you. That cannot be good for your soul or your complexion! 😉

“Those who hate most fervently must have once loved deeply; those who want to deny the world must have once embraced what they now set on fire.”

~Kurt Tucholsky

~ by oneshotbeyond on May 19, 2010.

8 Responses to “Burning Hate”

  1. These are really words to live by. Thanks for a thought provoking post, Heather.

  2. emotionally evocative shot.

  3. I 2nd Julie…definitely words to live by!

  4. Wow I actually like that – Not sure I’ve ever hated anyone – Very much “dis-liked” some. Something to think about.

    We love you too.

  5. Julie was right when she said words to live by!

    “I truly believe letting hate reside inside of you does more damage to you than it does to the person or thing you’re trying to control.”

    EXACTLY.

  6. Thanks! 🙂

  7. Beautifully penned.

    You are a very talented, beautiful, wise, woman.

  8. Sue…thank you for those sweet words. They mean a lot to me!

Leave a Reply

