Tasty Tuesday: Citrus Garlic Fire Shrimp

Citrus garlic fire shrimp has a punch of flavor that you’ll never forget tasting for the 1st time. I am addicted to anything spicy and everything citrus! I usually make this with jumbo shrimp as an appetizer. My kids ask for it all the time which is awesome because it’s one dish we can all agree on having together without any modifications needed. I got this recipe from a friend at a family bbq years ago and never forgot it! It was THAT yummy! πŸ™‚

(click to enlarge)

Method:

Step 1. Peel & devein shrimp. I love this part for some weird reason. I never trust the ready made shrimp to be clean enough so I do it myself. πŸ™‚

Step 2. Coat shrimp in any chili oil or my personal preference “Mongolian Fire Oil” if you can find it. See below for basic chili oil…it always has a red tint to it. Mongolian fire oil is a bit spicier, but my local store was out of it last time I went so I ended up with this one.

Step 3. Mix equal parts of garlic salt, paprika & cayenne pepper in a mixing bowl. I start with 2 tbsps each and work my way up from there depending on how much shrimp I’m using. Combine well and add to the shrimp & chili oil. Fold shrimp over and over with a large spoon until coated thoroughly as shown below.

Step 4. Mince a ton of garlic up. I’d say 8 – 12 cloves. πŸ™‚

Step 5. Place 2 large pats of butter in a nonstick skillet over med/high heat and let soften. Please use REAL butter.

Step 6. Place shrimp in the heated pan with melted butter and saute about 3 minutes or until the bottoms are opaque.

Step 7. Add in all the garlic right before turning each shrimp. Garlic makes this so GOOD.

To be honest you probably want to cook the shrimp in much smaller batches than I am showing here, but I was impatient so this is how I did it tonight.

Step 8. Flip each shrimp and let cook until opaque and cooked through. Your shrimp should look like this when they are just about done:

Step 9. Squeeze the juice of an entire lemon over the top before plating and have some lemon wedges on hand for each serving. Don’t skip the lemon juice. It completes the dish perfectly! When you plate the dish let the sauce with all the little garlic bits fall onto your rice. It’s way too wonderful!!!

~ by oneshotbeyond on June 14, 2010.

4 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Citrus Garlic Fire Shrimp”

  1. I KNEW I shouldn’t open this post! This looks so good but I won’t be able to try it for weeks. Stupid surgery! 😦

    I love the step-by-step shots.

  2. This looks and sounds heavenly, Heather. It’s interesting…garlic is so cheap here in Holland that I often use an entire head in any dish I make. Astrid and I don’t smell it on each other but the guys at her work the next day always ask what she ate last night. We laugh about it. The thing is, it’s so good for you!!! πŸ™‚

  3. Your photo of the finished product is great; makes me hungry. Good detail in the shrimp.

  4. Thank you Ginnie. I didn’t know garlic was cheap there! That is so cool…

    Andy-I appreciate that coming from you. Your food shots are unbelievable!

Leave a Reply

