Tasty Tuesday: Drunken Tropical Fruit Salad

You read it right! It’s that time of year when the most refreshing things are sweet & juicy or creamy & delicious. I decided to mix the two into one!

These are pineapple & mango bites soaked in malibu rum with cottage cheese and crunchy almonds. If you know me at all…you know that I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Malibu Rum. It’s just got that great coconut flavor compacted so perfectly inside it. I can’t resist trying to find other ways to use it aside from in a Malibu Bay Breeze or splashed inside of my diet cokes.

(click to enlarge)

Drunken Tropical Fruit Salad

by Heather McCullah

1/2 cup fresh pineapple chunks

1/2 cup fresh mango chunks

1/2 cup lowfat cottage cheese

6-12 slivered almonds

1-1/2 ounces malibu rum or other rum of your choice

First…I cut up my fresh fruit into tiny bite size pieces & place them in a bowl (I use about a cup). Then I add a full shot of malibu rum to them and toss with a spoon until all the pieces are coated. Next…I let that sit in the fridge for a good 15 mins to a 1/2 hour. Then…I plate up some cottage cheese with slivered almonds up on top. Last…just pile the drunken fruit all around the cottage cheese & almonds. As refreshing and guilt free as can be!!! πŸ™‚

~ by oneshotbeyond on July 12, 2010.

6 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Drunken Tropical Fruit Salad”

  1. holy nom nom!!!

  2. This does look tasty….send some my way! πŸ™‚

  3. Looks yummy! What an easy recipe. I am going to try it! Thanks!

  4. Fruit with very few other ingredients… that’s the way it should be. Looks great.

  5. as always…. YUMMMMMMM!!!!!!

  6. This would be DECADENT in the most wonderful way, Heather! Astrid and I have a fruit salad (with mangoes but not pineapple) and dates on the side every day when she gets home from work. But THIS would make a surprise even she couldn’t resist. WOW.

Leave a Reply

