Entertaining with Ease

The fun part about entertaining for me is…ALL OF IT! I love it. I love planning things out. I love prepping the house, food & menu. Above all that when I have a house full of friends over it is the best thing in the world!

I’ve found the easiest way to begin planning a party is to pick a theme and plan out your menu. I went for an Italian theme for a recent dinner party. It turned out fantastic!

Little prosciutto, feta cheese & basil wraps drizzled with olive oil were one of our appetizers. I wish I could say this idea was my own, but it wasn’t. I found it on the internet a long, long time ago & always wanted to try it out. I don’t know why I waited so long. These were the best and easiest little appetizers to make.

Here’s one of the place settings with a little gift for each guest. Chocolates & the main dish recipe rolled up in a pretty bag.

Sun-dried Tomato Bruschetta…to die for! I took a little help from one of my favorite stores ready made jars for the topping.

Just imagine how good it tastes…here’s a closer look!

Stuffed olives and lemon slices round out our table so there would be no need for “real” centerpieces. I’m not big on decorating when I’m entertaining. I feel like the “less is more” concept really works and always lets the food shine.

My ravioli soup getting good and ready for serving. Find the recipe for it here.

And…everybody’s favorite part-Dessert! Can you read the little napkins? They say “Let’s get our drink on”. How cute is that??!

(click to enlarge)

Mini Martini Trifles…so good! You can find disposable glasses like these at your local party goods store or you can make them in real shot glasses.

I made three totally different flavors for my guests to choose from. Trifles are so easy…I thought of these flavor combinations the day before the party.

There was a cookies n cream trifle made with cookies n cream candy bars & my secret sweet cream + chocolate pudding. Yep…it was good!


There was a berry & lemon trifle made with angel food cake, blueberry yogurt & lemon curd sauce + lots of fresh blueberries. It was incredibly good!

And…then there was a fabulous Toffee Chocolate Nut Trifle made with skor toffee bars, chocolate chips & my secret sweet cream.

I ate way too many of these mini’s!!!

I love combining homemade dishes along with some store bought ones. Below are some store bought ready to eat cookies and truffles. I liked the idea of having lots of mini desserts to choose from instead of one big cake or platter of brownies. Presenting them in specialty drink glasses I already have made them seem super special!

Entertaining is so easy when you plan ahead and keep it simple…letting the food stand out and be the biggest part of your decor!

I have to thank my dinner guests again for all the awesome dishes they brought along with them! We had the best night meeting new friends, trying new dishes and exchanging recipes. Oh…and did I mention somebody brought fresh SANGRIA??! What an awesome thing to bring to the next dinner party you’re invited to!!! I’m stealing that idea for sure! πŸ˜‰

Happy Entertaining!

~ by oneshotbeyond on August 8, 2010.

4 Responses to “Entertaining with Ease”

  1. She’s a photographer AND SHE COOKS. I sure hope your family appreciates you, Heather! πŸ™‚

  2. All of this looks wonderful – where was my invite?? LOL Not only does it look tasty it is also very pretty (almost too pretty to eat)!

  3. Everything looks so yummy! Beautiful “presentation.”

  4. You make it look so easy! Your friends must love it when they get an invite from you!

Leave a Reply

