Tasty Tuesday: Spicy & Thick Taco Soup

This taco soup is the one of the most comforting & filling meals. You can vary the ingredients, spices & toppings just to your liking. There are so many good versions on the internet right now. The following recipe is just my take on all the ones I’ve tried and liked. I love mine super spicy & extra thick. You can make it with or without meat and it will still be just as satisfying. I always keep frozen turkey or beef patties in the freezer so this soup is an easy last minute meal for me to make. You can use any combination of canned beans you have, but the key to it’s creamy & thick texture is to make sure at least one can is refried beans.

During the fall and winter months I cannot get enough of this soup!

Spicy & Thick Taco Soup

Heather McCullah’s Version

Inspired by all the wonderful taco soups before it! πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS-

2 turkey patties or 1/2 pound of ground turkey

1Β  onion (diced)

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

pinch of red chili flakes

1 tbsp lemon or lime juice

1 package ranch mix (hidden valley)

1 package taco seasoning mix (I use spicy)

1 small can no fat refried beans(I use spicy)

1 small can pinto beans (not drained)

1 small canΒ  black beans (not drained)

1 small can corn (not drained) or 1 cup of frozen corn

1 small can fire roasted tomatoes

1/2 cup frozen mixed peppers (I get them at Trader Joe’s) or you can use fresh chopped ones

1 to 2 cups of chicken or vegetable broth

OPTIONAL INGREDIENTS (for toppings)-

green onions (chopped)

sour cream

shredded cheese

tortilla chips (crushed)

cilantro (chopped)

METHOD-

Brown turkey in olive oil with onion, garlic, cumin, red chili flakes, salt & pepper (and fresh peppers if using them). Drain any grease. Add all the remaining ingredients except for the chicken broth. Stir well. Add in the chicken broth a little at a time until you get the soup to a consistency that you like. I personally like it to be a chili type consistency so I tend to use about 3/4 cup.

Simmer covered for 30-45 minutes. Then let sit for another 10-15 minutes covered. Will freeze well. Makes an enormous amount so use a BIG pot!

~ by oneshotbeyond on September 13, 2010.

6 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Spicy & Thick Taco Soup”

  1. Wait! It’s Tuesday????? That’s okay – this way I know well in advance what I’m cooking tomorrow night! πŸ˜‰ This one looks fabulous – I never would have thought to put refried beans in a soup.

  2. I’m not going to be home much tomorrow so I posted this one early! I do that sometimes. Kind of cool not having to follow the rules…lol!

  3. Have we had this before? Doesn’t matter – still sounds yummy!

  4. Nope Oscar…this is a NEW one!

  5. And it was delicious! Thanks, Heather. We always know that we’ll eat well around here on Tuesday!

  6. loooove the 5th shot of her from the bottom.

Leave a Reply

